Sju Slag (Seven Sorts)

Pin It
As you know by now, I currently live in Norway and learn more about their customs and the way they live. There are some particular traditions here depending on specific periods in a year. For example since the new year is coming soon, they started to sell many kinds of cookies at the market. I learned that it has a reason. In Norway, in Christmas time seven types of cookies are served in every house and this tradition is called “sju slag” (“syv sorter” in old Norwegian) which means “seven sorts”. These cookies vary regionally and each region serves different seven types. Among those types “ginger bread” (on the picture) is the most common one. However according to local residents, nowadays this tradition is not as popular as it was in the past years.                                                                                                      

Follow This Blog

No comments:

Post a Comment